Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 1
Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 1
  • Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 2
    Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 2
  • Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 3
    Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 3

Mount Gay, 1703

Master Select

1703 Master Select

1703 Master Select provient d’un mélange de rhums issus des colonnes et barils de cuivre des réserves les plus anciennes de MountGay. Ces rhums de 10 à 30 ans ont été sélectionnés par le Maître Distillateur Allen Smith. En raison de la forte demande et de la rareté des fûts les plus anciens, MountGay lance chaque année une collection unique : 1703 Master Select blend. 12,000 bouteilles environ sont ainsi proposées cette année dans le monde, toutes embouteillées et étiquetées une par une à la main.

Le nouveau design des packagings primaires et secondaires

· Reflète son positionnement premium. · En fait une « option-cadeau désirable » · Met en relief l'histoire de la marque et son travail artisanal · Crée un système packaging déclinable pour les futurs mélanges de rhums.

Un consommateur fondamentalement « explorateur »

Son envie de découvrir la route la moins empruntée le pousse à vivre des expériences fascinantes et l’attire vers les marques qui peuvent les lui proposer. Pour lui, une marque devrait toujours proposer une histoire à découvrir et à transmettre. Il associe artisanat à authenticité et apprécie le design et les détails raffinés. Il ne s’agit pas de parader mais plutôt de vivre une expérience distincte et de la partager.

Héritage et Origine

L’héritage authentique du rhum MountGay s’est construit sur des histoires riches et engageantes. Nous avons voulu utiliser la richesse de cette histoire pour créer un lien fort avec le consommateur en capitalisant sur les valeurs de MountGay et en nous appuyant sur le discours de marque. En termes de stratégie et de design, nous voulions nous assurer que tous les composants, la bouteille, l'étiquette et la boîte, fonctionnent en harmonie afin de positionner clairement 1703 dans le portefeuille de MountGay. Comprendre ce qui rend chaque offre unique nous a permis de mieux positionner 1703.

Promesse de Marque: Rareté & Artisanat

Le travail sur la typographie, l'iconographie et les scellés, la Texture, les Couleurs et les détails premium communiquent le caractère unique du 1703 Master Select.

Voir plus

Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 1
Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 1
  • Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 2
    Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 2
  • Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 3
    Mount Gay, 1703 Showcase Image 3

Mount Gay, 1703

Master Select

The Task

The 1703 Master Select blend features a blend of copper column and copper pot rums from Mount Gay's oldest reserves – ranging from 10 to 30 year old rums – created and hand-picked by Master Blender Allen Smith. Due to overwhelming demand and the scarcity of Mount Gay's most mature casks, the company releases just one batch of 1703 Master Select annually. Approximately 12,000 bottles will be released worldwide as part of this year's small batch, which was selected, bottled and labeled individually by hand.

Redesign the Primary and Secondary packaging to:

• Reflect the current position at the top tier of the Mount Gay portfolio

• Align the product's image with the increase in price point of US $150

• Position as a desirable gift-giving option

• Emphasize the craft and history

• Create a packaging system that allows for future blends adaptations

Our consumer is an explorer at heart

His drive to uncover the road less traveled attracts him to intriguing experiences and brands that can fulfill that purpose. To him, a brand should have a story worth discovering and retelling. He understands the connection between craftsmanship and authenticity — and has gained an appreciation for design and nuanced details. It’s not about showing off, but rather living a distinctive life and sharing it with those around him.

Our Opportunity

Mount Gay Rum’s authentic heritage allows for a variety of rich and engaging brand stories. We wanted to use this rich history to create a deeper connection with the consumer by capitalizing on core Mount Gay equities and emphasizing selected brand messages and premium cues. As we consider this opportunity – in terms of both strategy and design – we want to ensure all brand components (bottle, label and box) work in unison to position 1703 within the portfolio and the category.

Portfolio Blueprint - Heritage & Origine

To recode 1703 master select, we began by defining and clarifying its position in the Mount Gay portfolio. Understanding what makes each offering unique allows us to better define the opportunity for 1703.

Brand Promise: Scarcity & Craftsmanship

Explore through typography, Iconography & seals, Texture, Colors and Premium finishes to communicate the unique opportunity for 1703 Master Select.

View all work